Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Scholarly Articles

Tips for Using Databases

Select two to three keywords from your research question.
Utilize Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT to connect your keywords.
Narrow your search results using database limits, such as publication date, source type, and subject terms.
Evaluate your search results. Too many? Add more specific keywords and/or database limits. Too few? Use broader or fewer keywords. You can also try searching in another database.
Repeat. Research is a cycle; you will likely need to move through these steps more than once to find sources.

Key Databases

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Click the red star for a brief tutorial of how to do a basic search. A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. Included is approximately 200 full text journals.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) collects, analyzes, publishes and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.
Westlaw
Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Includes the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia.
Wiley Online Journals
The library contains over 1,600 journals covering a broad and multidisciplinary collection of online resources: nursing, law & criminology, humanities, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, business, economics, finance, accounting and more.

Academic and Trade Journals

The American Journal of Criminal Justice
The American Journal of Criminal Justice is a peer reviewed publication offering research on a wide array of criminal justice topics and issues.
The British Journal of Criminology
The British Journal of Criminology is a bi-monthly peer-reviewed criminology and law journal focusing on British and international criminology. It is published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the Centre for Crime and Justice Studies and its editor-in-chief is Eamonn Carrabine
Crime & Delinquency (CAD)
Crime & Delinquency (CAD), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is a policy-oriented journal offering a wide range of research and analysis for the scholar and professional in criminology and criminal justice. CAD focuses on issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system, including the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, as well as the victims, criminals, courts and sanctions
Crime, Law and Social Change
Crime, Law and Social Change publishes peer reviewed, original research articles addressing crime and the political economy of crime, whether at the global, national, regional or local levels, anywhere in the world. The Journal often presents work on financial crime, corruption, organized criminal groups, criminal enterprises and illegal markets, state crime, terrorism and security issues, cybercrime, cross-border crime and environmental crime.
Criminal Justice and Behavior
Criminal Justice and Behavior publishes articles examining psychological and behavioral aspects of the juvenile and criminal justice systems.
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Criminology & Criminal Justice is a leading, peer reviewed journal of original research and thinking in the field. The journal seeks to reflect the vibrancy of the disciplines of criminology and criminal justice throughout the UK and internationally.
Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency
The Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency presents a wide range of research and analysis in the field of criminology. You’ll find research on the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, examining victims, offenders, police, courts and sanctions.
Justice Quarterly
Justice Quarterly ( JQ ) is an official publication of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. Justice Quarterly is a refereed, multi-disciplinary journal that publishes theoretical, empirical and interpretive studies of issues related to criminal justice, crime, and criminal behavior.
Law and Human Behavior
Law and Human Behavior, the official journal of APA Division s a multidisciplinary forum for empirical manuscripts examining the interface between human behavior and the law, the criminal justice and legal system, and the legal process.
Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice
Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice: An Interdisciplinary Journal provides academics and practitioners in juvenile justice and related fields with a resource for publishing current empirical research on programs, policies, and practices in the areas of youth violence and juvenile justice.
The Journal of Crime & Justice
The Journal of Crime & Justice, the official journal of the Midwestern Criminal Justice Association, aims to reflect the current concerns and latest research of Criminology and Criminal Justice scholars and advance discussion of these issues. The scope of the Journal is broad, encompassing a wide array of criminology and criminal justice topics and issues.

Today's Hours

Helpful Links

Contact Us

reference@desales.edu

610-282-1100 x1266