Skip to main content

Graduate Student Resources: Use the Library from Home

The purpose of this help guide is to provide a library collection of resources and tips to assist students in the process of writing a thesis.

Search your topic in the boxes above to find peer-reviewed articles, scholarly ebooks, and streaming videos.


Off Campus Access to Electronic Resources

All of Trexler Library's research databases are accessible to DeSales students from anywhere. These databases are restricted to DeSales students, so you must identify yourself as one to search from home. To do so, log in with your DeSales email and password when prompted. 

If you have any difficulties, make sure that you're using your full email (with @desales.edu). If your browser remembers your username and password, try deleting it and manually entering both. If the problem continues, contact the library at reference@desales.edu or on our online help chat.

Electronic Resources

Scholarly Articles

  • Trexler Library has electronic access to scholarly articles in all major disciplines. To find articles relevant to your field, select a database in your subject from the A-Z Databases list. A subject can be selected from the All Subjects dropdown menu.
  • If we do not have full text access on an article you need, we can get it for you for free through Interlibrary Loan. It generally takes 1-2 business days for the articles to arrive as a PDF in your email.

Scholarly Books

  • In addition to our online articles, Trexler Library has a large collection of ebooks perfect for graduate students. Many are on topics related to graduate fields of study like business, nursing, and criminal justice.
  • You can search the ebooks specifically in the red search box at the top of this page.
  • For more about using our ebooks, check out our Scholarly Ebooks guide.

Educational Films

  • Trexler Library also has a large collection of educational streaming videos through our database Films on Demand.
  • Films on Demand: A database of licensed streaming videos. Contains over 15,000 titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities, PBS, and more. The films can be linked to Blackboard course resources, shown directly in class, or accessed any time from home or office. Most films offer Closed Captioning.
  • Academic Videos Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video database covering more than 67,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.

Get Help From Home

Today's Hours

Contact Us

  reference@desales.edu

       610-282-1100 x1266

     @Desales_Trexler