In the NU 205 course students are required to do a research paper on HIPAA - the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. The goal of this help guide is to provide suggestions and links to resources that will help you locate the information y
The Office for Civil Rights under the Dept. of Health & Human Services protects the privacy and security of health information. There is information describing the HIPAA legislation on this website for all levels of healthcare personnel as well as for the general public.
This is a link-to site from the DHHS Office for Civil Rights, the government office listed above. It contains links to a variety of resources that will help you understand and integrate HIPAA and more into your professional practice.
Some useful search headings include: Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act; electronic health records; privacy and confidentiality; nursing care - ethical issues;
Tip: check he May 2005 issue of the online Journal of Issues in Nursing for several articles updating the previous 10 years changes in the law.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It is global in its scope of coverage and it ranks as the best sources for medical and life science information.
Includes over 330 scholarly full text journals, of which 260 are peer-reviewed. The focus of this set of resources is the medical science disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 830 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
The Wiley Online Library collection numbers over 1,600 journals. It hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering nursing, law & criminology, humanities, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, business, economics, finance, accounting and more.
*A direct link to COVID-19 research is provided on the Wiley home page.
Please Note: Trexler Library does not subscribe to ebooks in the Wiley Online Library. Items available in full text are denoted by an open padlock icon.