Skip to main content

Electronic Resources: Access from Anywhere

This guide provides information on access the library's electronic resources from home.

Looking for resources you can use from home?
Trexler Library has access to scholarly ebooks, educational films, and peer-reviewed articles that DeSales students, faculty, and staff can use from anywhere. Search your topic in the source-specific search bar below to find great alternatives to print materials. Learn more about our electronic resources in the boxes below.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a librarian.


Ebooks

Trexler Library has access to almost 400,000 ebooks from reliable university presses and academic publishers, including Oxford University Press and SAGE Knowledge. We also now have temporary access to additional ebook collections, including Harvard Business Publishing Ebook Collection.

This includes reference sources like dictionaries and encyclopedias, authoritative sources on a scholarly topic, recent books based in academic research, and leisure reading sources. The ebooks cover topics relevant to major DeSales programs like nursing, business, theology, and theater. They can be read online from anywhere and many can be downloaded to your devices.

Our ebooks make excellent supplements or alternatives for classes as they move online. To find ebooks, use the Ebooks search box above. You can also explore our Ebook Collection guide, where you can learn more about searching our general collection for ebooks and the databases that provide ebooks.

Streaming Video

Trexler Library provides access to thousands of streaming videos through two databases: Films on Demand and Academic Videos Online. These videos can be embedded into Blackboard for easy access for a course and are great resources to help students understand complex topics. 

Learn how to use the below databases and add content to courses on our EVideos guide.

  • Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of 50,000+ high-quality educational videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor (Films for the Humanities and Sciences).  Other content providers for Films on Demand include Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS and many more. You can browse the database by a wide range of topics.
  • Academic Videos Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video database covering more than 67,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-review articles are produced for academic audiences and present scholarly research. These articles are reviewed by experts in the field before getting published, hence the term "peer-reviewed."

The vast majority of Trexler Library's scholarly articles are available electronically through academic databases. Many databases are subject-specific, which means they contain journals related to a specific field, like Criminal Justice Database or CINAHL (for nursing). To search within an appropriate database for your field, go to our A-Z Databases page, and select your academic subject from the "All Subjects" drop-down box. You can also search your topic in the Articles box at the top of this page.

If we do not have full-text access to an article, Trexler Library can get it for you from another library free of charge. Submit a form with your information and that of the article, and you will receive the article as a PDF in your email in 1-2 business days.

If you need help finding articles for an assignment, schedule an appointment or ask a librarian at reference@desales.edu.

Today's Hours

Contact Us

  reference@desales.edu

       610-282-1100 x1266

     @Desales_Trexler