Education: Organizations & Associations

Teaching resources, research, statistics, news stories and hot topics, and state information will be most helpful. Access to Federal Resources for Educational Excellence provides tools for teaching and links for parents.

The CEP "is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools." Their site provides resources on "the most serious issues in education."

From UC Berkely, this site provides access to research reports on issues pertinent to higher education.

An independent education reform organization that provides state profiles and reports.

A site from the Dept. of Education on IDEA, which includes information on the law and resources for educators.

A project of the American Academy of Pediatrics, healthychildren.org provides caregivers and professionals with information about child development, recommendations from the AAP, as well as information about the social, physical, and emotional health of children.

Birth to 5: Watch Me Thrive! is a coordinated federal effort to encourage healthy child development, universal developmental and behavioral screening for children, and support for the families and providers who care for them. Published by the Administration for Children and Families

Provides information on the basics of child development as well as links to free research articles and aids

FPG’s local, state, national, and global reach includes a vast array of highly anticipated and widely respected scholarly publications and other valuable resources, which take numerous forms for multiple audiences at home and abroad. Over the past 12 months, people from over 180 countries have relied on FPG resources to inform and enhance the lives of young children and their families.

NAEYC provides resources and aids for teachers of young children as well as professional development resources and research articles

Site provides briefs and fact sheets on issues related to children and their development. Briefs and Fact sheets are available on a variety of topics and updated to reflect current trends and social/political issues.

This online encyclopedia is produced by the Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development in Canada. It is intended for policy-makers, service planners and service providers, and for parents.