Research Guides: NU 804: Health Outcomes Management: Where to Search

How to Search Databases

The best place to state database research is on our A-Z Databases page. It links to all 100 of our databases, many of which are specific to an academic field or content type.

If you're doing introductory research, use one of our broader databases, like Academic Search Premier. If you're doing more advanced searching for in an academic subject, go to the All Subjects dropdown menu, and select Nursing or Graduate Nursing. The best databases for each subject will appear.

Be on the look out for the red star next to databases. They link out to short tutorials on how to search in those databases.

Best Nursing Databases

CINAHL
CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, bio-medicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines This resource offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more..
Cochrane Library
Click the red star for a brief tutorial. The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. (See more information for a detailed explanation of each).
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready’ and form monthly issues; see publication schedule.

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. The majority of CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly MEDLINE and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources. In addition to bibliographic details (author, source, year, etc.) CENTRAL records will often include an abstract (a summary of the article). They do not contain the full text of the article.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
More than 830 journals are reviewed and abstracted here, 350 of which are available in full-text. About 280 of the titles are peer reviewed. This database covers both the nursing and the allied health literature.
PubMed
Click the red star for a tutorial on using the Advanced Search Builder in PubMed.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It is global in its scope of coverage and it ranks as the best sources for medical and life science information.

To see all of the Nursing related databases available at Trexler Library click here

Related Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
The largest ,of our library databases, this one covers many different disciplines. About 60% of the content is available in full-text.
Nursing Reference Center
- is a point-of-care reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. This database offers staff nurses, nurse administration, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full text documents. Nursing Reference Center provides in-depth content from top publishers covering areas including conditions & diseases, patient education resources, drug information, lab & diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and much more.
Provides access to embedded HTML copies of Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, AHFS Essentials, Nursing Diagnosis Manual, additional book titles, and a collection of Research Instruments under the Practice Resources tab.
SAGE Journals Online
Famous for its bibliographic content focused on criminal justice and psychology, this database also contains significant content from the biological and health sciences. All database content is taken from journals published by Sage.
Trip Database
this database has evolved into a sophisticated tool for locating the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence-based medicine.
Wiley Online Library: Journals
Click the red star for a tutorial reviewing how to run an Advanced Search in the Wiley Online Library. The library contains over 1,600 journals covering a broad and multidisciplinary collection of online resources: nursing, law & criminology, humanities, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, business, economics, finance, accounting and more.

Please Note: Trexler Library does not subscribe to ebooks in the Wiley Online Library. Items available in full text are denoted by an open padlock icon.
Also See:
The Cochrane Library

Elsevier Nursing Journals Metrics

Elsevier Nursing Journals - Most Cited References
This site lists the Elsevier journal titles in nursing, the cited factors and scores for each title, and a link to a page listing the reference and abstract for a sampling of the most cited articles in each journal over the past 4 years (excluding the current year).

more... less...

This is NOT a full-text service. Rather it informs readers of topics of current interest in the profession. It is also a useful tool for identifying references related to personal research interests which can then be requested through inter-library loan.

Top Ranked Nursing Journals

Google Data Metrics lists the following 10 nursing journal titles as those most highly ranked in the profession. There are other lists available and those results may differ. This information is usually updated annually. Listed after the title iin parenthesis s the publisher. An asterisk after the title indicates it is available full-text in one of our nursing databases.

International Journal of Nursing Studies (Elsevier)

Nurse Education Today ( Elsevier)

Journal of Advanced Nursing (Wiley) *

Journal of Clinical Nursing (Wiley) *

Midwifery (Elsevier)

Journal of Nursing Management (Wiley) *

Journal of Nursing Scholarship (Wiley) * - a Sigma Title

Journal of Palliative Medicine (Mary Ann Leibert)

Nursing Education Perspectives (Ovid)

Nursing Ethics (Sage) *

Finding Full Text

Can't find the full text of an article you need?

Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials. Interlibrary Loan is a free service for our faculty, staff, and students through which materials not owned by Trexler library may be requested from other libraries. A PDF of the full text will be delivered to your DeSales email. Please allow enough time between request date and need by date for processing of the request - both on the part of Trexler as well as the eventual lending library.

Today's Hours

Helpful Links

Contact Us

reference@desales.edu

610-282-1100 x1266