Research Guides: Sport & Exercise Science: Home

Article Databases: - Best Bets

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Human Kinetics Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to certain journals by this publisher. To determine access: When searching if the resulting article states "Read article" you have access. If you are asked to pay then we do not subscribe to the full text of the journal HOWEVER you may use our InterLibrary Loan service. We will get the article for you from another institution. Check out our Interlibrary Loan page at: http://tinyurl.com/lc3n8lz
Full text access to the following journals:

International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism
International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance
Journal of Aging and Physical Activity
Journal of Applied Biomechanics
Journal of Sport Management
Journal of Sport Rehabilitation
Sociology of Sport Journal
Sport Psychologist
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Click the red star for a tutorial on using the Advanced Search Builder in PubMed.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It is global in its scope of coverage and it ranks as the best sources for medical and life science information.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Journals platform includes full text of scholarly journals from SAGE publications in many disciplines, such as ,health sciences, education, religion, social sciences, criminal justice and business.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
is a leading scientific database offering journal articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and book chapters from more than 37,000 books. Select content is available in full-text. For articles without full text, click on the "Check for Full Text" link at the bottom of the article record, and then follow directions to link to an inter-library loan request form.
Contains more than 240,000 open-access articles.
Wiley Online Library: Journals This link opens in a new window
Click the red star for a tutorial reviewing how to run an Advanced Search in the Wiley Online Library. The library contains over 1,600 journals covering a broad and multidisciplinary collection of online resources: nursing, law & criminology, humanities, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, business, economics, finance, accounting and more.

Please Note: Trexler Library does not subscribe to ebooks in the Wiley Online Library. Items available in full text are denoted by an open padlock icon.
Also See:
The Cochrane Library

Additional database sources...

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Click the red star above for a brief tutorial on using advance search for Academic Search Premier, Our largest and most comprehensive database. A multidisciplinary research database providing access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. ERIC Documents from 1996- include full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click the red star to watch a brief tutorial of how to use Google scholar. Google Scholar searches peer-reviewed academic journals, books, papers, and theses from academic publishers, professional societies, university presses and other scholarly organizations.
If you have already configured your Scholar preferences*, or if your on campus, you will see links to the right of some results that say FullText@Trexler Library. This link lets you look for a version of the item that's available through Trexler Library database subscriptions.

For other items, you may see a link that says HTML or PDF. Clicking on those links may take you to a freely available version of the article on the open web.

Some search results will have neither links. When this happens, try clicking on the article title. Sometimes this will still get you to a version of the article.

If you find that you are unable to access the article, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.

*Configuring Preferences in Google Scholar: Once you've logged into your Gmail Account, go to the Google Scholar homepage, and click on the settings link.

On the left side of the screen, you will see a button that says "Library links".

Clicking this link will take you to the "Library access links" search box.
Type DeSales into the search box, and click on the blue magnifying glass button to the right.

When the page refreshes, check the box that says "DeSales University - Trexler Library - FullText@TrexlerLibrary", and update your settings by clicking the blue save button.

Your browser will remember this setting, so the next time you go to Google Scholar, you will see links in your search results whether you're on campus or off. Note that if you use multiple web browsers or computers, you may need to configure this setting for each browser you use.

If you have any questions about configuring your Google Scholar settings, or about using Google Scholar in your research, Ask a Librarian for Help!
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapter, books and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains over 3 millions records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600's with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800's to the present, includes international material selected from around 2500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The Worlds most comprehensive bibliography with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries.

Today's Hours

Helpful Links

Contact Us

reference@desales.edu

610-282-1100 x1266