Skip to main content

Native American Heritage Month: About

Resources in celebration of the history and culture of the indigenous communities and tribal nations of America. More resources at


Each November we recognize the culture and history of the indigenous people of the United States. Signed into law in 1990, this honorary month aims to share Native American traditions, communities, and contemporary issues. There are currently 573 federally-recognized tribal nations in the United States, as well as an additional 66 nations recognized by states. 

The Lenape

DeSales University sits on the traditional homeland of the Lenape, also known as the Leni Lenape, Lenni Lenape, or the Delaware. The matrilineal society originally spread throughout modern day Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Connecticut. During the 18th century, the Lenape were pushed out of this homeland by expanding European colonization and by the 1860s the remaining Lenape were forcibly removed to Oklahoma under the United States Indian removal policy (Library of Congress Indian Removal Act Guide).

Lenape people are a part of three federally recognized tribes (Delaware Nation, Delaware Tribe of Indians, and Stockbridge-Munsee Community) and three First Nations communities in Canada (Munsee-Delaware Nation, Moravian of the Thames First Nation, and Delaware of Six Nations). There are a number of state and local groups of Lenape, including the Lenape Nation of Pennsylvania and the Nanitcoke Lenni-Lenape of New Jersey.

Recommended Resources:


Today's Hours

Contact Us

       610-282-1100 x1266