Open Educational Resources (OER): Computer & Information Technology

Peer-reviewed open access books in Computer & Information Science.

Publisher of Think Python, Think Bayes, and Think Java, Green Tea Press provides a variety of free open texts on topics in Information Technology.

Digital circuits, often called Integrated Circuits or ICs, are the central building blocks of a Central Processing Unit (CPU). To understand how a computer works, it is essential to understand the digital circuits which make up the CPU. This text introduces the most important of these digital circuits; adders, decoders, multiplexers, D flip-flops, and simple state machines.

A Primer for Computational Biology aims to provide life scientists and students the skills necessary for research in a data-rich world. The text covers accessing and using remote servers via the command-line, writing programs and pipelines for data analysis, and provides useful vocabulary for interdisciplinary work. It is broken into 3 parts: Unix/Linux, Python, and R.

The bookdown package is an open-source R package that facilitates writing books and long-form articles/reports with R Markdown. Features include:
Multiple choices of output formats: PDF, LaTeX, HTML, EPUB, and Word. Possibility of including dynamic graphics and interactive applications (HTML widgets and Shiny apps). Support a wide range of languages: R, C/C++, Python, Fortran, Julia, Shell scripts, and SQL, etc. LaTeX equations, theorems, and proofs work for all output formats.

The learning modules of this textbook were written as standalone modules. Students using a collection of modules as a textbook will usually view it contents by reading the modules sequentially like a traditional text.

The goal of this book is to provide an Informatics-oriented introduction to programming. The primary difference between a computer science approach and the Informatics approach taken in this book is a greater focus on using Python to solve data analysis problems common in the world of Informatics.

How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python is an introduction to programming using Python. The basic syntax and semantics of Python are covered, including functions and objects. Some of the more advanced features are missing, and readers are encouraged to continue on to other books. Every chapter provides a glossary of new technical terms at the end. There is a comprehensive index at the end of the book.

Created in Jupyter Notebooks, these modules' target audience is first-year engineering students, but the course would be equally useful to students in any science or technology field.

The Seventh Edition of Introduction to Programming Using Java is a free, on-line textbook on introductory programming, which uses Java as the language of instruction. This book is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java.

This book contains roughly three parts. The first 11 chapters discuss the JavaScript language itself. The next eight chapters are about web browsers and the way JavaScript is used to program them. Finally, two chapters are devoted to Node.js, another environment to program JavaScript in.

Ever wondered how a computer processes data into information? This free course, An introduction to data and information, will help you to understand the distinction between the two and examines how a computer-based society impacts on daily life.

This online textbook was developed for the Foundations of Data Science class at UC Berkeley.

This free course, The database development life cycle, has been designed to give you an overview of the developmental lifecycle for a database system, explaining the importance of data analysis and highlighting how database development differs from traditional software development.

This second edition of Database Design book covers the concepts used in database systems and the database design process.

University-level, short video lessons and full online courses to help you understand and prepare for this technology of the future.

Peer-reviewed open access books in Robotics.

This book introduces concepts in mobile, autonomous robotics to 3rd-4th year students in Computer Science or a related discipline. The book covers principles of robot motion, forward and inverse kinematics of robotic arms and simple wheeled platforms, perception, error propagation, localization and simultaneous localization and mapping.

This open course presents advanced topics in Artificial Intelligence (AI). In this course, we will focus on how to build and search graph data structures needed to create software agents, an approach that you will find useful for solving many problems in AI. We will also learn to "break down” larger problems into a number of more specific, manageable sub-problems.

This open course from MIT includes an overview of each unit taught, video lectures & tutorials, lecture notes, projects, instructor insights, adn more!