Research Guides: CSD 335: Neuroscience of Communication: Where to Search

Health Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Click the red star for a brief tutorial. Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides access to virtually all English-language nursing journals, and primary journals from 13 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Click the red star for a brief tutorial. The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. (See more information for a detailed explanation of each).
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready’ and form monthly issues; see publication schedule.

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. The majority of CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly MEDLINE and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources. In addition to bibliographic details (author, source, year, etc.) CENTRAL records will often include an abstract (a summary of the article). They do not contain the full text of the article.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapter, books and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains over 3 millions records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600's with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800's to the present, includes international material selected from around 2500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Click the red star for a tutorial on using the Advanced Search Builder in PubMed.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, comprises over 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It is global in its scope of coverage and it ranks as the best sources for medical and life science information.

For a more detailed listing of related databases please check out these links:

Finding Full Text

Can't find the full text of an article you need?

Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials. Interlibrary Loan is a free service for our faculty, staff, and students through which materials not owned by Trexler library may be requested from other libraries. A PDF of the full text will be delivered to your DeSales email. Please allow enough time between request date and need by date for processing of the request - both on the part of Trexler as well as the eventual lending library.

CSD/SLP Journals

Check out the leading journals in the field of Speech Language Pathology available through Trexler Library.

American Journal of Audiology
Full text: 2000-Present
American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology
Full text: 2001-Present
ASHA Leader
Full text: 2000-present
Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research
Full text: 1997-Present
Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools
Full text: 1995-Present

Today's Hours

Helpful Links

Contact Us

reference@desales.edu

610-282-1100 x1266