Click the red star for a a short video that will address using boolean connectors and filtering options when conducting a search in Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
WestlawNext Campus Research is a comprehensive legal research database, providing access to:
*The complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, as published in the United States Code Annotated
*All federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations
*All precedent-setting court decisions of the federal and state courts, as presented in the National Reporter System
*KeyCite, an integrated tool that shows whether any case, statute, or regulation is still good law
*American Law Reports, a unique research tool that collects and analyzes every court case decided on a particular point of law
*American Jurisprudence, a comprehensive encyclopedia of state and federal law
*Current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals
Click the red star to watch a brief tutorial of how to use Google scholar. Google Scholar searches peer-reviewed academic journals, books, papers, and theses from academic publishers, professional societies, university presses and other scholarly organizations.
If you have already configured your Scholar preferences*, or if your on campus, you will see links to the right of some results that say FullText@Trexler Library. This link lets you look for a version of the item that's available through Trexler Library database subscriptions.
For other items, you may see a link that says HTML or PDF. Clicking on those links may take you to a freely available version of the article on the open web.
Some search results will have neither links. When this happens, try clicking on the article title. Sometimes this will still get you to a version of the article.
If you find that you are unable to access the article, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.
*Configuring Preferences in Google Scholar: Once you've logged into your Gmail Account, go to the Google Scholar homepage, and click on the settings link.
On the left side of the screen, you will see a button that says "Library links".
Clicking this link will take you to the "Library access links" search box.
Type DeSales into the search box, and click on the blue magnifying glass button to the right.
When the page refreshes, check the box that says "DeSales University - Trexler Library - FullText@TrexlerLibrary", and update your settings by clicking the blue save button.
Your browser will remember this setting, so the next time you go to Google Scholar, you will see links in your search results whether you're on campus or off. Note that if you use multiple web browsers or computers, you may need to configure this setting for each browser you use.
If you have any questions about configuring your Google Scholar settings, or about using Google Scholar in your research, Ask a Librarian for Help!
