Skip to Main Content
Websites
- Association for the Study of African American Life and History
- Founded by Dr. Carter Woodson in 1915, ASALH is the cornerstone for February's Black History Month. This website includes current news and upcoming virtual events that celebrate Black History Month, as well as the history and mission of ASALH.
- Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture
- An array of interactive virtual resources such as past and present exhibitions ranging from the Revolutionary and Civil Wars to modern day portraits of African Americans. Also features collections about literature, activism, and popular culture.
- African American History Month
- The Library of Congress' exhibitions and collections of African American history, including trailblazers in education, sports, and Civil Rights activism.
- Library of Congress Law and African American History
- Includes a list of all the proclamations that were given by US Presidents and Congress declaring the national observance of Black History Month in the month of February.
- National Archives Black History Resources
- This National Archives resource provides links to all of the federally and non-federally owned websites, archives, and collections dedicated to Black history and culture.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
- The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a renowned research center with the New York Public Library devoted to the preservation and exhibitions of African American culture, identity, and community.
- Archives of African American Music and Culture
- Part of Indiana University, this resource displays the rich and creative musical talents of many African American artists in gospel, hip-hop, and classical music genres after World War II.
