Education Week, a weekly education newspaper, is available full-text through our Professional Development Collection Database.
On the Library home page click the "A - Z Databases" link. On the databases page, open the box in the gray bar labeled "All Subjects" and click on "Education" to pull up a page listing the best databases covering the subject Education. On this page click pn "Professional Development Collection" to lnk to the database.
To search Education Week, in the black bar across the top of the Professional Development Collection home page, click "Publications." In the 'Browse' bar (located under the word "Browsing:" in bold, type 'Education Week', click 'Browse' and the first one on the list should be your title. Click on the title and this will bring up a description of the title. Above the words "Publication details" is a link to "Search within this publication" - clicking this link will limit your search on the search screen to only articles found in this title.
Google Scholar has an advanced search feature that allows searchers to design tailored search statements. This will retrieve a search result with fewer irrelevant citations.
FIrst, on the Google Scholar home page, click "Settings" and in the window choose "Advanced Search." This screen will allow you to enter relevant key words or phrases (e.g., department of education, charter schools, school safety), last update (choose from anytime down to past 24 hours), domain (retrieve only .gov sites), and more. This puts you in charge of exactly what you want to retrieve.
When searching Google Scholar from home, be sure to click on the three bars in the upper left corner, choose settings, library links, type in the search bar "DeSales University" and 'Save'. You only need do this once. Google Scholar will now recognize that you are affiliated with DeSales and will provide links to full-text that you have access to as a student at DeSales.