Skip to Main Content
US Government Resources
- Thomas (Library of Congress): Contains information on Congress, such as congressional records, bills, resolutions, presidential nominations, treaties, committee reports, etc.
- US Congressional Documents and Debates: From the Law Library of Congress. Contains Congressional records from 1774-1875, as well as bills, documents, and debates.
- America.gov: From the US Department of State, contains information on current US foreign policy, plus contemporary American culture and life.
- Alternative Press Center: A non-profit collective that offers searchable collection of books and articles.
- Public Agenda Online: Provides information on a number of issues confronting the US, such as education, foreign policy, and immigration.
- ElectionGuide : International in scope, this site provides information on verified election results including a description of the government structure, voting and demographic data, and a breakdown of votes cast in each election.
- C-SPAN Video Library: This site provides access to over 160,000 hours of C-SPAN video recordings, including interviews, press conferences, debates, ceremonies, House and Senate proceedings, presidential addresses, and more.
Law and Political Resources
- Supreme Court: Official page of the Supreme Court. Provides access to information on decisions, opinions, etc.
- FindLaw: Supreme Court Cases: Database of Supreme Court cases by month and year, plus lower court decisions, docket sheets, oral argument transcripts, and Supreme Court briefs where available.
- First Amendment Center: Website dedicated to educating the public on the First Amendment and its topics.
- Marxist Internet Archive: Provides access to Marxist writings, with 592 authors represented in 45 different languages.
International Governments and Foreign Policy Resources
- Center for Strategic & International Studies: Private, nonpartisian research organization focused on foreign policy.
- International Relations and Foreign Policy: Contains information on US foreign policy in the twentieth century, includes links, both to government and nongovernment websites, documents, speeches, etc.
- Political Database of the Americas: Provides political information on countries in Latin America, including constitutions, electoral law, legislative and executive branch information, and elections data.
- National Constitutions: Constitutions from dozens of countries listed alphabetically.
