BusinessCriminal JusticeEducationHealth SciencesHistoryLiteratureNatural SciencesPerforming ArtsPoliticsPsychologyTheology and Philosophy
This is the "Home" page of the "Trexler Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
HomeEvents CalendarLibraryContact UsSite Index
ABOUT DESALESACADEMICSADMISSIONSATHLETICSARTSSTUDENT LIFE

Trexler Databases  

A guide to Trexler's databases. The search box on this page searches this guide NOT the databases. Choose a database by clicking on the blue house and then search
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://desales.libguides.com/newdatabase Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

Hours  Fall 2013
Monday - Thursday       7:30am - 1:00am
Friday    7:30am -9:00pm
Saturday    9:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday Noon - 1:00am
 

Databases

To login: Students use the first part of your desales/gmail address (js1234) and your password.  This is the same information you would use to login to MyDsu. Faculty/staff use your network login (smithj) and your network password.

Database Name/Description Click to Access Databases
Academic Search Premier - Our largest and most comprehensive database covering multiple subjects and disciplines

ArtStor -  ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields

ATLA Religion Database - This database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.  This database is the definitive index for religious and theological literature.  It contains 1.6 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in over 60 languages.  Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present.  The database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

BioEd Online - the online educational resource for educators, students, and parents.  BioEd Online utilizes state of the art technolgy to give you instant access to reliable, cutting-edge information and educational tools for biolgy and related subjects. 

Biomed Central - BioMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  It is a small but growing collection.

Bureau of Justice Statistics - Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) collects, analyzes, publishes and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.  These data are critical to Federal, State and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. 

Business Source Elite -  A comprehensive index of business journals, magazines and other sources.  This file contains indexing and abstracts for more than 3,800 business related periodicals with coverage back to the first half of the 20th century

Catholic Periodical & Literature Index - This database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle.  The database includes indexed citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.  Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online contains more than 300,000 records covering Roman Catholic publications including, but not limited to, periodicals, books, newspapers, and papal documents

CCH Tax Research - CCH provides access to tax and business law information. The CCH Citator tracks the history of federal cases and rulings and lists cases or rulings on a point of law relevant to a chosen topic

 

Choice:  Current Reviews for Academic Libraries - is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.  Users need to create individual accounts and interest profiles

Chronicle of Higher Education - The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators

CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides access to virtually all English-language nursing journals, and primary journals from 13 allied health disciplines.


Contemporary Middle East -  A Documentary History brings together more than 120 primary source documents that allow the region's tumultuous modern history to be told by the people who made it.

Credo Reference - is a general reference database which includes over 609 titles.  Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the worlds best publishers of reference materials.  It provides dictionaries and other guides.
Criminal Justice Periodicals - provides information a wide range of criminal justice topics including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation and criminal and family law.  It includes full text for about 50 frequently used journals and indexing and abstracting for about 140 relevant U.S. and international journals.
Dance in Video - will contain 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.  Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and pioneers of modern concert dance.  Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; video on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
Directory of Open Access Journals - a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)  - contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.  More thatn 114,000 titles in subjects including Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science and Technology and Engineering.
 ebooks - This guide will introduce you to some of the ebooks to which Trexler has access.
ebrary Academic Complete - ebrary offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need. Conduct your research on the computer, or try our mobile apps for Android and for iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch! (For detailed help using ebrary check out our ebrary libguide)
Edgar Full Text - allows you to search the full text of EDGAR filings from the last four years.  The full text of a filing includes all data in the filing as well as all attachments to the filing.
Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance - encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.  The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa.  Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures:  actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics.
Encyclopedia of Life - EOL is a free online resource bringing together information about all life on Earth in text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more
Epocrates - Epocrates Online drug and formulary reference provides immediate access to more than 3,300 drug monographs (brand and generic), on and off dosing, adverse reactions, contraindications, drug interactions, and much more.
e-Print Archive - Begun as a project to distribute physics research, the project now includes mathematics and computer science research articles.  The goal is to make scientific articles more freely available on the web.  Scientists may post successive drafts of their papers.
ERIC - The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement.  It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.  ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.  ERIC Documents from 1996- include full text.
Films on Demand - a database of licensed streaming videos.  Contains over 6,000 titles from such producers as Films for the Humanities, PBS, more.  The films can be linked to ANGEL course resources, shown directly in class, or accessed any time from home or office.
Google Scholar - This version of Google searches peer-reviewed academic journals, books, papers, and theses from academic publishers, professional societies, university presses and other scholarly organizations.  It includes links to the full text of material to which you have access via Trexler Library subscriptions.  If you are accessing Google Scholar off the Center Valley campus, you need to click on "Settings" at the top right of the page, and click on "Library Links"  on the left column and type DeSales University in the search box and click the magnifying glass. 
GreenFILE - offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.  The database provides indexing and abstracting for more than 384,000 records as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia - This encyclopedia is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom.  Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more.
Handbook of Research on Open Source Software - E-access contains full-text articles and chapters regarding research, trends, technologies, and challenges in the field of information science, technology and management.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine - The new 16th Edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine includes timely, thoughtful and supremely useful coverage of every major internal medicine related update and current controversy of note.
HathiTrust:  A Shared Digital Repository - HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation's great research libraries available for all.  HathiTrust was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections.
Health Source: Nursing/Acad. Ed. - Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.  Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.  Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.  In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescriptions drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.
HighWire Press - Founded by Stanford University, Highwire Press provides access to 296 journals with a focus on science, technology and medicine.  Most of the titles are freely available to users.
Hoover's Online - Information on public and private companies worldwide, comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence.  Covers companies and industries, money, career development, news and business travel. (Due to publisher restrictions, Hoover's can NOT be accessed via a mobile device)
Issues and Controversies - published by Facts on File, investigations of today's top issues.  Explores more than 800 hot in business, politics, governmnet, education and popular culture.
 
International Encyclopedia of Dance - offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic and social dance.  Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances. biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more.  The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.
JSTOR - This large scholarly database includes the full text of over 250 journals.  It includes issues form the start of each journal within one to five years of the present time.
Lexis Nexis - provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical and reference information.  It includes newspapers from around the world, journals newsletters, and policy papers.  Updated daily.
Medline Plus - Medline Plus has extensive information form the National Institute of Health (NIH) and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.  There are lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.  There is no advertising on this site, nor does Medline Plus endorse any company or products.
MLA International Bibliography(MLA)- consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage form 1963 to the present.  The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series.  It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
National Center for Biotechnology Information - Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminated biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service - Established in 1972, the NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
National Rehabilitation Information Center -  The National Rehabilitation Information Center's online gateway contains an abundance of disability and rehabilitation oriented information organized in a variety of formats designed to make it easy for users to find and use.
Naxos Music Library - the worlds largest classical music listening service designed for students, instructors and patrons of public and academic libraries, as well as players and executive of orchestras.  Naxos Music Library's collection of over 140,000 tracks of music is continually growing, not only from their own label, but form other leading independent labels.  The collection is benchmarked against the development suggestions outlined in the Music Library Association's A Basic Music Library.  Naxos Music Library has simple and advanced searching, common (non-proprietary) software requirements and extensive background information such as complete liner notes.
LIMIT 5 CONCURRENT USERS
Naxos Music Library - Jazz - offers a mixed selection of jazz legends and contemporary jazz.  Naxos Jazz contains more than 3,000 CD's and new CD's are added every month.
LIMIT 5 CONCURRENT USERS
Nursing Reference Center - is a point-of-care reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care.  This database offers staff nurses, nurse administration, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full text documents.  Nursing Reference Center provides in-depth content from top publishers covering areas including conditions & diseases, patient education resources, drug information, lab & diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and much more.
Oxford English Dictionary - the online 3rd edition of this most famous dictionary.
Papal Encyclicals Online - This free database provides access to papal encyclicals (letters to groups of bishops) and other church documents, many in English.
Philosopher's Index - Provides indexes and abstracts for books and journals on philosophy and related subjects.  It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics
PILOTS - This database provides an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post traumatic stress disorder and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.  It is produced by the National Center for PTSD, and is electronically available to the public.  There are over 30,000 references in this database with some full text links.  PILOTS is a bibliographic database, a list of publications rather than a collection of texts.  
Professional Development Collection - Provides access to over 500 full text education journals, including more than 300 peer reviewed titles.  Indexing and abstracts are provided for nearly 800 education journals.  
PsychInfo -American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapter, books and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.  Contains over 3 millions records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600's with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry.  Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800's to the present, includes international material selected from around 2500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) - is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.  To demonstrate that this publishing model will be successful for the publication of the very best research, PLoS publishes its own journals.  PLoS Biology launched its first issue on October 13, 2003, in print and online.
PubMed - PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 millions Medline citations.  It is one of the best sources for medical and life science information.
Regional Business News - provides full text from more than 50 regional business publications.
Religious & Theological Abstracts - provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.  Includes Christian, Jewish and other world religions, and provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and other major European Languages.  Search-able by bible citation, keywords in the abstracts, title, author and journal name.
Science Direct - is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books
SAGE Journals Online - This database includes scholarly peer-reviewed articles on a variety of subjects from one publisher, SAGE.
Sports Business Research - Market research from the National Sporting Goods Association, U.S. Department of Commerce, various sports governing bodies, and full text articles from 14 magazine and newsletters.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - an authoritative comprehensive web-based reference work about philosophy, useful to scholars of all levels as well as the general public.  Published through Stanford University's Center for the Study of Language and Information, the Encyclopedia's refereed entries are created and maintained by hundreds of experts from the international philosophy community.  It is a dynamic reference work in which each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts int he field.  All entries and updated are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
The Catholic Encyclopedia - This is the online version of the 1908 fifteen volume work.  It provides full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
Theater in Video - contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.  For the first time, students, instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging, and these landmark performances can become a permanent part of the curriculum.
Trip Program - this database has evolved into a sophisticated tool for locating the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence-based medicine.
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library - provides online access to reliable nursing information that can be easily utilized and shared.  The ultimate goal is to make the library one of the most comprehensive resources for nursing information available.  Through the library's complimentary Registry of Nursing Research database, individuals have access to search study abstracts and conference abstracts.  Primary investigators can be contacted for more information about how to obtain full-text versions of their study.
Wall Street Journal - Updated daily, this database provides full text of the Wall Street Journal.

Westlaw Campus Research - contains more than 700 law reviews and journals, all federal and state cases including U.S. Supreme Court cases and state statutes and regulations.

 

WestlawNext - Westlaws new interface powered by WestSearch.  Click here for video tutorials or give us a call at 1266

Wilson Education Full Text - Indexes and abstracts articles from English-language education periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere.


Wired.MD Patient Portal - Consumer Health and Patient Education video database.


World Cat - The Worlds most comprehensive bibliography with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. 


WorldCat Dissertations and Theses - This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries.



 

Live Chat with a Librarian

Credo Reference

 

Trexler Events

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip