This is the "Home" page of the "Online Databases--Same Page-New Look!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
BusinessCriminal JusticeEducationHealth SciencesHistoryLiteratureNatural SciencesPerforming ArtsPoliticsPsychologyTheology and Philosophy
HomeApply TodayNews & EventsEvents CalendarContact UsSite Index
DeSales University Library
ABOUT DESALES
ACADEMICS
ADMISSIONS
ATHLETICS
ARTS
STUDENT LIFE
LIBRARY
Admin Sign In 

Online Databases--Same Page-New Look!  Tags: journal_articles scholarly magazines  

This guide provides links and descriptive information for the databases and electronic books to which Trexler Library Subscribes. Use the search box below to find other guides.
Last update: Jul 29th, 2010 URL: http://desales.libguides.com/databases  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates \"ShareThis\"

Home            Print/Mobile Page
  

Interlibrary Loan

 

Photocopiers

If you would like to make a copy of an article, you can use one of our two photocopy machines located on the first floor of the library.   Cost is .10 per page.  These machines use your student photo id to make copies.  You can also add money to your card with our "Load Card Station" located next to one of our copiers.

 
 

General Subject Databases

  • Academic Search Premier - Our largest and most comprehensive database covering multiple subjects and disciplines.

  • ARTstor- ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields.

  • Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries - is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.  Users need to create individual accounts and interest profiles.

  • Chronicle of Higher Education - The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

  • Credo Reference - Credo Reference is a general reference database which includes over 300 titles. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. It provides dictionaries and other guides.

  • CQ Press Electronic Library- CQ Press Electronic Library is a reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. 

  • Directory of Open Access Journals - Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals.

  • Films on Demand - Films on Demand is a database of licensed streaming videos and contains over 6,000 titles from such producers as Films for the Humanities, PBS and more.  The films can be linked to ANGEL course resources, shown directly in class, or accessed any time from home or office.

  • HathiTrust:  A shared digital repository- HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation's great research libraries available for all.  HathiTrust was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections.

  • Issues and Controversies - published by Facts on File - depth investigations of today's top issues. Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. 

  • Google Scholar- This version of Google searches peer-reviewed academic journals, books, papers, and theses from academic publishers, professional societies, university presses, and other scholarly organizations. It includes links to the full text of material to which you have access via Trexler Library subscriptions. If you are accessing Google Scholar off the Center Valley Campus, you need to click on "Preferences" at the top of the page, and type in "DeSales" in the box asking for your library. Material from Trexler should then be available via the "Full Text @ My Library" link.

  • Handbook of Research on Open Source Software - E-access contains full-text articles and chapters regarding research, trends, technologies, and challenges in the field of information science, technology and management.

  • JStor - This large scholarly database includes the full text of over 250 journals. It includes issues from the start of each journal within one to five years of the present time.

  • LexisNexis- Lexis-Nexis provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical and reference information. It includes newspapers from around the world, journals, newsletters, and policy papers. Updated daily. 

  • NetLibrary - Provides the full text of over 40,000 electronic books. Subject coverage is broad and includes current titles. Each user must create a free individual account with a password. Users may electronically *check out* a title for 24 hours. Extensive help is available within the databases. Printing capabilities are restricted.

  • NY Times- Historical - The New York Times (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Use Lexis-Nexis to search current NY Times articles.

  • Oxford English Dictionary - The online 3rd edition of this most famous dictionary.

  •  SAGE Journals - This database includes scholarly peer reviewed articles on a variety of subjects from one publisher, SAGE.

  • SMARTHistory - This is a free multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement for the traditional art history textbook. It conatins  audios and videos about works of art found in standard art history survey texts, and the files are organized  stylistically and chronologically, with added text and still images.   
     
  • WorldCat - The world's most comprehensive bibliography with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information form 2100 B.C. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world.

  • WorldCat Dissertations and Theses- This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries.
 
 

Trexler Journals

 

Journals A to Z
Electronic and print journals to which Trexler Library subscribes.


Finding Full Text of a Journal Article
This 6 minute tutorial will show you how to locate the full text of a specific journal article.

 

 

Using Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar This 6 minute tutorial will introduce you to searching Google Scholar

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait