DeSales University                                                        TREXLER LIBRARY

.

Open Access

Librarian

Debbie Malone's picture
Debbie Malone
Contact:
610.282.1100 x1253

Search This ...

The Edupunks Guide: How to Do Research Onlne. More and more people around the world are building on this knowledge revolution to explore new modes of learning and to transform what we mean by “education.”

Try searching Google on your topic and "digital Library" or "insitutional repository." This will bring up faculty papers and research institute content. example:

Great OA Guides

Other Helpful Links

  • Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that provides legal tools such as free, easy-to-use copyright licenses that authors can utilize for sharing their creative work.
  • Digital Commons Network
    The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas—from Architecture to Zoology.
  • Disciplinary Repositories
    A list of open access disciplinary repositories (also called central or subject repositories). Most accept relevant deposits regardless of the author's institutional affiliation. Hosted by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College.
  • DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
    The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. It currently includes more than 1200 peer-reviewed books from over 30 publishers.
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
    International organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). It supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Provides a searchable Union Catalog containing more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
  • Open Access Directory
    A compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA), maintained by the OA community at large. Hosted by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College.
  • OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
    An authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

How open is it?

How Open Is it? cover image

PLOSSPARC, and OASPA recently released the final version of theOpen Access Spectrum guide. This guide identifies the core components of Open Access (OA) and how they are implemented across the spectrum between “Open Access” and “Closed Access”.  Its aim is to help authors make informed decisions on where to publish based on journal policies.