Research Guides: Chemistry: Books

Reference Resources in Chemistry

The Facts on File Dictonary of Organic Chemistry by John Daintith (Editor)
Call Number: QD246 .F33 2004
ISBN: 0816049289
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Organic chemistry is one of two fairly distinct parts of chemistry, the other being inorganic chemistry. It is generally studied separately from inorganic chemistry and, above a certain level, students use different textbooks for the two branches of the discipline. The Facts On File Dictionary of Organic Chemistry provides quick access and complete reference definition to the terms, concepts, and principles that make up a significant part of section 4 of the advanced placement chemistry course for high school students. Undergraduate chemistry students and students studying the life sciences will also find this volume useful. Areas of the subject covered include basic terms in chemistry: physical chemistry; techniques used in organic chemistry; elements; classes of compounds; named compounds; and industrial processes.
A Dictionary of Chemistry by John Daintith (Editor)
Call Number: QD5 .D4985 2008
ISBN: 9780199204632
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 4,700 entires - over 200 new to this edition - it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry tobiochemistry. The sixth edition boasts broader coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these related fields. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics suchas polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
The World of Chemistry by Robyn V. Young (Editor); Suzanne Sessine (Editor)
Call Number: QD33 .W873 2000
ISBN: 9780787636500
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
"World of Chemistry is a single-volume, subject-specific resource of chemistry aimed at students. It contains more than 1,200 entries covering many topics in the field including chemicals, theories, discoveries, concepts, people that have demonstrated significant impact upon the field, and recent developments that may have future impact.

Location of Chemistry Books in the Library Collection

Begin your search in the Library collection. The call letter prefixes direct you to where in the collection you can find books in each of the subject areas listed below.

HV Forensic Chemistry

QD Physical Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry

QE Geochemistry

QH Natural History, General Sciences

QP Physiology & Biochemistry

RB History of Clinical Chemistry

RM Pharmacology, Therapeutics

RS Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Microchemistry

TD Atmospheric Chemistry

TP Industrial Chemistry, Chemical Technology

UG Chemical Warfare

E-Books

* netLibrary - Covering all subject areas, this database contains the full-text of over 40,000 electronic books.

* Project Gutenberg Chemistry Bokshelf- these books, primarily historical in nature, can be downloaded free! Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971. The mission of the Project is to encourage the creation and distribution of e-books.

* Google Book Search - allows users to search the content of books and, "if the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given (Google) permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you are free to download a PDF copy." (Google Terms of Service)

Today's Hours

Helpful Links

Contact Us

reference@desales.edu

610-282-1100 x1266